RSS

So Long, Friend

08 Nov

**At some point in time in our lives, we realize that we have become, without our knowledge, burnt bridges in the lives of people we cared for deeply and esteemed highly in our lives. It happened to me. Just yesterday. In view of all this, i choose to not judge, to look beyond the hurt and listen to the lesson(s). So long, friend.**

If I am a bridge you burnt,

Then you are a lesson I’ve learnt

One that I will take with me,

Forever, long after the hurt does cease.

If I am one you care less for

I will not let your opinion take a toll

On my personality because the reality

Is that you choose not to see

Me for me

I am more than my bad days

More than my former ways

I am more than you think me to be

More than your cup of tea

I am the person that’s free

Free to be me

I let go of your oppression

Let go of your contentions

To live up to your expectations

To be your painted picture of perfection

Your tainted image of would-be redemption

And beyond your rejection

I still am God’s selection

And under His will and protection,

I will live to be me.

Goodbye oh hater

See you later or never

If you thought you were clever

Or that you were doing me a favor

Please do not cry me a river

Stay away from ‘my’ fever

Just let me be.

Beyond my imperfections

I find satisfaction

Not in your jurisdiction

But in He that is my Salvation.

So there’s the door

You are free to go

For long before you said so

I knew for you

I was but a burnt bridge.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2010 in Poetry

 

10 responses to “So Long, Friend

  1. Abraham

    November 8, 2010 at 09:13

    So is life. Challenges that we face, but they should not weigh us down. What is important is that “In view of all this, i choose to not judge, to look beyond the hurt and listen to the lesson(s).”

     
  2. Sony Kimani

    November 8, 2010 at 13:25

    “Goodbye, and sleep cold” to all the haters.

     
  3. Peter Bala

    November 18, 2010 at 12:11

    Wow! Tis a good thing to acknowledge when we’re but burnt bridges- and choose to move on.

     
    • Njambi

      November 20, 2010 at 03:40

      More than a choice, it is important to value oneself. Because before we loved our neighbours, we had to love ourselves. So if your neighbour keeps poking your delicate insides (read heart) and tampering with your joy, wouldn’t you rather stay away from them? 🙂

       
  4. Ogata

    November 20, 2010 at 03:32

    Good bye! what?! Serah, i totally read you. But again, i need to know, what is the place of forgiveness in your life?

     
    • Njambi

      November 20, 2010 at 03:43

      Good question Ogata. Made me think it through. To forgive is key. Even if i did not feel like it, i would have to; because He that knows BEST commands me to.

       
  5. Jasmine

    November 20, 2010 at 03:34

    These is all the words i always wanted to say when my ex cheated on me. After this, i think i will not even mind them. But how to forget?

     
    • Njambi

      November 20, 2010 at 03:48

      Forgeting is the ability to remember the people and the things that hurt us without ever feeling remourseful or the need to release pent up negative energy on them or other people because of the same occurence. Forgeting is being able to separate the hurt from the lesson, letting go of the hurt, taking up that lesson and letting it work for us in the future..

       
  6. Warhia

    August 18, 2011 at 11:18

    Tafakari kali hii. 🙂

     
  7. MumBi

    January 12, 2012 at 05:43

    Beautiful. This is so apt for friendships that have ran their course.

     

Leave a Reply

 
